Pahang (Malay pronunciation: [paˈhaŋ]; Jawi: ڤهڠ), officially Pahang Darul Makmur with the Arabic honorific Darul Makmur (Jawi: دار المعمور, "The Abode of Tranquility") is a sultanate and a federal state of Malaysia. With an area of 35,840 square kilometres, it is the third largest Malaysian state and the largest in Peninsular Malaysia. Its territory comprises roughly 11% of the total land area of Malaysia. With 1.63 million inhabitants, it is Malaysia's ninth most-populous state. Pahang's capital and largest city, Kuantan, is the eight largest urban agglomerations by population in Malaysia. The state occupies the Pahang River basin. It is bordered to the north by Kelantan, to the west by Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, to the south by Johor and to the east by Terengganu and the South China Sea. The royal capital and the official seat of the Sultan of Pahang is located at Pekan. Other major towns include Temerloh, Bentong and its hills resorts of Genting Highlands and Bukit Tinggi. The other important districts are Jerantut, Kuala Lipis, and the hill resorts of Cameron Highlands and Fraser's Hill in Raub.