The Naruto manga and anime series takes place on a fictional universe known as the Ninja World, sometimes referred to as the Shinobi World (忍の世界, Shinobi no Sekai). The setting is a world with numerous countries and locations, including the main setting of the story, Konohagakure, a village part of the Land of Fire that the eponymous protagonist of the series, Naruto Uzumaki, was born in. The geography consists of nine countries, including the "Five Great Shinobi Nations", the five countries that united during the Fourth Shinobi World War. This universe has many things that exist or no longer exist that has made it what the village is now. When being a ninja in these countries, there are 4 main levels of becoming a shinobi, and there are other ranks and organizations that a shinobi can participate in by choice if eligible.