Flag of Europe

Flag of the European Union is the de facto term for the official emblem or logo of the European Union (EU). It consists of a circle of twelve five-pointed yellow (gold) stars on a dark blue (azure) field. The flag was introduced, and historically used by Council of Europe (CoE), under the name of European flag or flag of Europe. The design dates to 1955, and was officially adopted later that year by the Council of Europe. The Council of Europe urged it to be adopted by other European organisations, and in 1985 the European Communities (EC) adopted it as a "logo" or "emblem" (as there was no consensus on the adoption of a "flag" for a non-sovereign organisation). The EU, being the successor organisation to the EC, inherited the use of the emblem in 1993. It has been in wide official use by the EU since the 1990s, but it has never been given official status in any of the EU's treaties. Its adoption as the offical flag of the EU was planned as part of the proposed European Constitution, which failed to be ratified in 2005. It has nevertheless become widely known by the unofficial name of "Flag of the EU" or "EU flag", a term which has since also been adopted in the legislation of a number of EU member states. Since its adoption by the European Union, it has become broadly associated with that organisation due to its high profile and heavy usage of the emblem, to the point of eclipsing its prior association with the Council of Europe.
State flags - complicated puzzle
Play now!
State flags

Added year ago by andi


Play now!

Added over a year ago by Izabela